The Train Cake

birthday cake

Hello Everyone,

I have made this Train Cake for my son’s 3rd Birthday Tea Party at his childcare. I had been busy last two weeks with some shopping and i was so excited buying stuff and creating a loot bag for the kids. Probably because it’s the first time i am doing so. 😛

I know the finishing of this cake is not good, but i am trying to learn and improvise each time. 🙂 And i am super happy after i saw the excitement and happiness within my son and his classmates when i presented the cake. 🙂 😀  This is the third theme cake I have ever made, and I first started making them since Kian’s 1st Birthday.

Baking is my new passion and I have got quite a lot to learn. I have hardly baked ever since we moved to this house last year. I have got a gas oven in this house with no settings to set the temperatures. I spent months figuring out how it works and what to do. But, finally now i do everything with my guess work and yes it takes a lil more time to bake than usual, in this oven. But, whatever are the cons, i am happy to have found a way out, as my recent bakes had turned out great.

For the Train Cake, I have used a dark chocolate moist cake with stabilized whipped cream frosting. I know whipped cream can be a little tricky to work with, as it needs to be kept in the refrigerator at all times. But with the help of a little gelatin we can achieve this and let the whipped cream hold it’s shape for long.

Sorry guys, I could not click much pics as i was intending to do so at kians childcare, after arranging everything on the table. But, there was some surprise visitor at the their center that day and the teachers just got too busy and I don’t think even they have much pics. 😦

birthday cake 1

Dark Chocolate Moist Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups          Sugar

1 3/4 cups    All-purpose flour

3/4 cup        Cocoa powder

2 tsp            Baking Soda

1 tsp            Baking powder

1 tsp            Salt

2                  Eggs

1 cup           Buttermilk

1 cup           Hot Black Coffee (I used 1 tsp coffee powder – 1 cup hot water)

1/2 cup        Vegetable Oil

2 tsp            Vanilla Extract

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a loaf baking pan or two 9” round pan. Set aside. In a large bowl, combine the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix well until the dry ingredients are thoroughly combined.
  2. Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla. Using the electric blender, beat on medium speed for about two minutes; the batter will be thin.
  3. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  5. Cool for around 10 minutes; remove from pan to the wire racks. Cool completely.
  6. For making the train cake, you will need 2 cakes baked on a loaf pan. So double the ingredients and bake on 2 separate loaf pans.
  7. Now, for shaping the cake – One cake loaf will be used to make the train engine, while the second loaf will be divided into three to make train carts. I had followed Betty Crocker’s video from YouTube to shape this cake.
  8. So you can accordingly shape, frost and decorate your train cake.. 🙂

Stabilized Whipped Cream Frosting

Ingredients:

1 tbsp         Gelatin Powder

1/4 cup       Cold Water

3 cup          Thick Cream

3/4 cup       Powdered Sugar

1 1/2 tsp     Vanilla Essence

1/4 cup       cocoa powder

Food colour of your choice

Method:

  1. In a sauce pan, Mix gelatin and water (no heat yet). Let it stand for 5 mins.
  2. Turn on the heat to low and stir until the gelatin has dissolved. Remove from heat and let it cool for few mins.
  3. In a large bowl, whip the cream, sugar and vanilla until it becomes slightly thick.
  4. Slowly pour in the gelatine, while mixing on low.
  5. Beat on high until the cream is thick and peak holds shape.
  6. Divide the frosting in to 4 bowls. I had used chocolate frosting for the train engine. Whereas, just added different food colours for each train carts ie the rest of the 3 portions of whipped cream frosting.
  7. For chocolate frosting – take 1 portion of the frosting add 1/4 cup cocoa powder and mix well until combined.
  8. Apply the frosting neat and nicely and keep it in the fridge for half an hour.

Assembling:

  1. Before we start assembling the train on the tray, we need to pipe the train track first. I used the chocolate frosting to pipe the train tracks.
  2. Using the large flat spatula, gently lift the train engine and place it right on the start of the track, followed by the train carts.
  3. Now for decorating the train, I used mini Oreos as the wheels for the trains. And placed few mini marshmallows and m&m’s on each train carts. And finally, placed few chocolate dipped cherries on the steam engine. actually I wanted to use blackberries (as coal) but just forgot to include them in my shopping list, so made up with cherries.

I am sharing with you all the pics of the other theme cakes, I had made on my son’s 1st and 2nd birthday. 🙂

guitar cake

dino birthday cake 1

And finally a little kiss from my little man ‘Kian’, to all my fellow bloggers for being so loving and supportive.

birthday boy kissi

37 thoughts on “The Train Cake

      1. I had used buttercream frosting while making the guitar cake & had a tough time. Thus, I had used whipped cream frosting in the next two theme cakes. Plus I love the taste of this one. 😉 Btw, Peppa pig cookies sounds so interesting. . 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Anita. My son is vwey much fond of car’s, aeroplanes and trains currently. And baking a train cake was the easy bet for me 😛 haha. It’s not my idea. I followed Betty crockers video where it’s so well shown, how to design the cake. I recommend it to all the beginners. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks love. Kian was super excited to see his birthday cake. 🙂 He might not remember or appreciate it much today. But I believe, I am trying to create great memories for him to cherish in future. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kian is a Cutie pie , and you did a fabulous job with the cake Priti, in fact all of them, I haven’t even attempted doing cake frostings yet, except just once ! It’s the thought and love that matters in the end, I’m sure that would have made Kian super happy:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ❤ . Yeah it was liked by all. Not too sweet and just the right amount of icing for the kids. But, kids were more excited and interested on the lollies that was placed on the train carts. . Haha.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

